Nigel Ward, Open Letter To Nicholas Long, Independent Police Complaints Commissioner

Whitby --> Letters To The Editor --> Nigel Ward, Open Letter To Nicholas Long, Independent Police Complaints Commissioner

Nigel Ward, Open Letter To Nicholas Long, Independent Police Complaints Commissioner

From: ‘Nigel’
Cc: ‘Lord Maginnis of Drumglass’
Sent: Saturday, June 23, 2012 1:19 PM
Subject: CORRUPTION INVESTIGATION [1]
 
Mr Nicholas LONG – Independent Police Complaints Commissioner

Nicholas,

Thank you for your email.

I write to you in the public interest.

I trust that I can prevail upon you to examine, with care, the following information – a matter of the most grave urgency.

You will learn, by conferring with your IPCC Casework Manager Anthony Coulson, that I lodged a complaint against unspecified members of both the North Yorkshire Police and the North Yorkshire Police Authority in August last year.

The reason that the complaint did not specify those against whom it was directed was that it was in the nature of the complaint that it would be entirely inappropriate for the complaint to be investigated by those under the purview and influence of the very persons against whom the complaint was directed. The conflict of interest could scarecely be more manifest.

To be clear, my complaint centred around clear evidence of collusion amongst certain members of those bodies, specifically certain elected members and paid public servants of certain Local Authorities, to ensure that certain crimes were either not investigated, or investigated in a manner such as would deflect further complaints or investigations; in a word, cover-ups (an unfortunate plural, I know, but ‘covers-up’ is, perhaps, even more ungainly).

Without burdening you, at this stage, with chapter and verse, the bones of the matter are as follows.

Early last year, acting on information received from an individual purporting to a paid public servant at NYCC, I began investigating serious abuse of the Extended Schools “Me Too!” voucher system operated by NYCC, having been initiated and funded under the auspices of central government (Labour), in 2008. The information that came to light implicated an elected member of NYCC (and SBC).

During the 42-day run-up to the May 2011 local elections, I was repeatedly slandered by the running-mate of that elected member; a breach of Section 106 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (as amended by the Represntation of the People Act 1985), to the effect that I was under investigation by NYP for “sexual perversion”. NYP immediately assured me, then, and since, that no such investigation existed. (A breach of Section 106 of the Representation of the People Act is the offence for which, following the 2010 general election, Phil Woolas was stripped of his seat in the Commons).

Please be aware that it is far from insignificant that NYCC’s Head of Legal & Democratic Services Carole Dunne has only this week (19th June 2012) confirmed that NYCC’s investigation into “forgery and fraud” (having declined to accept my evidence one year ago) has now, finally, been passed to the North Yorkshire Police, in whose hands I expect it to vanish like a puff of smoke.

Despite providing written and recorded statements from two Whitby Town Councillors and one Scarborough Borough Councillor, who had witnessed these slanders at first hand, my complaint to the NYP was dismissed on the risibly spurious ground that “the offence was denied by the suspect”. Despite repeated requests, my evidence has not been returned to me to this day.

For the avoidance of doubt, I can provide compelling testimony to the effect that a ‘cover-up’ took place.

I can produce witnesses ready to testify about their own experiences. A pattern of behaviour is demonstrable.

In my view, such conduct amounts to conspiracy to pervert the course of justice. It is certainly misconduct in public office. In my view, this present crisis in confidence in policing in North Yorkshire will prove to be the spark which ignites perhaps the most extensive police corruption scandal in living memory.

Casework Manager Anthony Coulson will be able to provide you with the entirety of my correspondence with both the NYP and the IPCC. You will see that I have been serially subjected to misinformation and prevarication. Indeed, every conceivable impediment has been placed in my path. And yet now – only now – the NYP have been apprised – I believe in response to information that I have recently published into the public domain.

Both prior to, and since, my original complaint, I have been examining the public record in connection with financial and other actions of the present Chair of the North Yorkshire Police Authority. This is no idle digression.

The public record discloses a series of breaches of financial interest regulations spanning more than three decades.

I am now working closely with the investigation informing Lord Maginnis of Drumglass (copied into this email), whose concerns regarding high-level corruption in North Yorkshire have been the subject of Parliamentary Questions. I quote from Lord Maginnis, apropos the NYP: that particularly dubious constabulary merits careful investigation”.

I refer you, in part, to my article, based entirely on material readily available on the public record, on the matter of three Local Authorities taking no action on a matters of fraud and of forgery – in fact, Companies’ House documentation. The article is entitled “The Tip of the Iceberg”. I hope you will forgive this cliché on the basis that few other forms of words so eloquently evoke the extent of the corruption – and there is no more apposite word in our language – that has permeated North Yorkshire Authorities for decades.

http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/jane-kenyon-and-the-forged-signature-who-done-it

In the interests of transparency, I now inform you that it is my intention – and the declared intention of a rapidly burgeoning sector of the public – to expose the entirety of these matters in the public domain. The age of the internet brings many changes.

I have corresponded with Baroness Warsi and Lord Feldman, in their capacities as Co-Chairs of the Conservative Party – Councillor Kenyon’s Party – and they have declined, through their Chief of Staff Robert Kaye, the opportunity to express confidence in Councillor Kenyon.

Robert Goodwill MP (Scarborough & Whitby – Conservative) remains unresponsive.

In my experience – and I invite you to share that experience by visiting me in Whitby – it is the common perception that wrong-doing has prevailed as a matter of course in these parts for over a generation.

Again in the interest of transparency, it is my intention to publish this and future correspondence into the public domain. It is also my intention to publish into the public domain the actions, names and positions of all those whom I have shown to be implicated.

Publish and be damned? Oh, yes!

I look forward to your assurance that my complaint against certain members of the North Yorkshire Police and of the North Yorkshire Police Authority is now, belatedly, to be investigated – immediately, diligently and with the utmost transparency.

Yours, with very kind regards,

Nigel
_______________________________________
Members of the public may wish to address their own concerns to Nicolas Long. I am sure that he will welcome such further information as sheds light on this disgusting abuse of power and privilege.

By |2012-06-23T17:39:39+00:00June 23rd, 2012|Categories: Letters, News|Tags: , , , |10 Comments

About the Author:

Website Admin for the Real Whitby Website. All authors of the Real Whitby Website have access to publish on the website. Individual authors will usually sign off their articles with their own names.

10 Comments

  1. Ian Efc Detute June 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm - Reply

    Shared and looking forward to his reply.

  2. F L C June 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm - Reply

    All animals are equal, huh?

    Pigs at the trough, asses in the air, and living the high life.

    Looks to me like we need an explanation from these people. Then a round up and some time in jail to start.

    Hell, lets get chaingangs on the go, and these people can do some real work for a change.

  3. Rodric Breeze June 23, 2012 at 6:58 pm - Reply

    Nigel, I wish you well in your laudable endeavours. It is well past time that these arrogant criminals were brought to book.

  4. Nigel Ward June 24, 2012 at 10:45 am - Reply

    Thank you for all the support, folks. Heartfelt appreciation.

    I have written to Her Majesty’s Inspector of Constabularies:

    —– Original Message —–
    From: Nigel
    To: Steve.Blake@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk (HMIC)
    Sent: Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:36 AM
    Subject: Call for immediate action re CORRUPTION in North Yorkshire.

    Mr Steve BLAKE – Chief Operating Officer – HMIC

    IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST

    Steve,

    When I wrote to you on 21st November 2011, it was not my expectation that you would respond promptly, but I am surprised, nonetheless, to note that you have apparently forgotten the matter entirely.

    You will (perhaps) recall that I was alerting you to some very serious wrong-doing here in North Yorkshire.

    In the interests of brevity, as well as transparency, I have reproduced my email of yesterday to your colleague at the IPCC, the man himself, Nicholas Long. If you would be so good as to read and digest that email, it will spare me the inconvenience of typing out the whole jar of worms again.

    You are perhaps already aware of the investigation and campaign headed by Lord Maginnis of Drumglass regarding endemic corruption in North Yorkshire life, particularly in the NYP and the NYPA. Three Parliamentary Questions have been raised on the matter. Lord Laird is now actively involved.

    I am unconcerned, at this stage, with protocol. I am concerned about the disgraceful display of ‘closing ranks’ presently evinced by virtually every concerned party. The public record alone, without reference to any other source, irrefutably demonstrates serial misconduct in public office by a group of elected ,members and paid public servants, in several authorities including, but not limited to, the NYP and the NYPA, over a period in excess of thirty years. I have appended some links, that you may inform yourself about all that is taking place on your watch.

    I look to you, Steve BLAKE – Chief Operating Officer of Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabularies, to take a firm initiative and instigate a deeply diligent investigation without further delay. I do not intend to accept platitudes or evasions.

    I reserve the right to publish any/all correspondence with HMIC into the public domain. You may be confident that I intend to exercise that right.

    Yours with kind regards,

    Nigel

    http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/nigel-ward-open-letter-to-nicholas-long-independent-police-complaints-commissioner

    http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/jane-kenyon-and-the-forged-signature-who-done-it

    http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/tim-hicks-letter-to-carl-les-north-yorkshire-police-authority

    http://grandmabarbara.wordpress.com/1-new-items/the-worst-case-of-police-corruption-in-british-history/

    http://www.policeoracle.com/news/Police+Performance/2012/May/24/IPCC-Inquiry-Officers-Say-Complaints-System-Unfair_49095.html

    And this guidance note:

    Under English law, ‘misconduct (or misfeasance) in public office’ is an offence at common law.

    The Crown Prosecution Service guidelines on this offence say that the elements of the offence are when:

    A public officer acting as such Wilfully neglects to perform his duty and/or wilfully misconducts himself to such a degree as to amount to an abuse of the public’s trust in the office holder without reasonable excuse or justification.

    The similarly named ‘malfeasance (or misfeasance) in public office’ is a tort. In the House of Lords judgement on the BCCI Malfeasance Case it was held that this had 3 essential elements:

    The defendant must be a public officer

    The defendant must have been exercising his power as a public officer

    The defendant is either exercising targeted malice or exceeding his powers.
    I believe you will find that the code test is met.

    One of the defendants is Chair of the North Yorkshire Police Authority. That post qualifies as ‘a public officer’.

    That defendant was acting, variously, as an elected member of several local authorities. Her actions and inactions, in office, are a matter of public record, and include failure to declare interests in trading partners of the authorities, and failing to notify allegations of fraud.

    Those actions qualify as ‘exercising his[her] power as a public officer’.

    The defendant is not authorised to disregard the terms of the Code of Conduct. Her actions, therefore, qualify as ‘exceeding his[her] powers’. [Ultra vires]

  5. Nigel Ward June 27, 2012 at 8:46 pm - Reply

    I have heard nothing from Nicholas Long.

    I have written to Acting Chief Constable Tim Madgwick, asking him to comment on the Jane Kenyon ‘forged document’ affair:

    —– Original Message —–
    From: Nigel
    To: tim.madgwick@northyorkshire.pnn.police.uk
    Sent: Wednesday, June 27, 2012 4:28 PM
    Subject: Clear suspicion of forgery unreported

    Acting Chief Constable Tim MADGWICK – North Yorkshire Police

    IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST

    Tim,

    I write to you in connection with my ongoing investigation of the Chair of the North Yorkshire Police Authority, Cllr Jane Margaret Kenyon.

    I expect that you are already familiar with information circulating on the internet concerning the story told by the public record (NYCC/NYMNPA Standards Committee Decision Notices, Companies’ House records, FOIA responses, etc) that appears to demonstrate unequivocally that there is a clear and present suspicion of forgery, very probably entailing fraud.

    In the interests of brevity, I refer you to my article published on the Real Whitby newsblog:

    http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/jane-kenyon-and-the-forged-signature-who-done-it

    It is six weeks now since I first raised concerns regarding Cllr Kenyons Register of Interests with NYCC Monitoring Officer Carole Dunn. As I write, NYCC are proving totally non-responsive.

    You may also wish to read and digest the following:

    http://www.real-whitby.co.uk/nigel-ward-open-letter-to-nicholas-long-independent-police-complaints-commissioner

    Prior to publication, may I offer you the opportunity to provide a statement as to your intentions in respect of the matter raised – the clear suspicion of criminal actions including (but not limited to) forgery and fraud, implicit in the public record – that needs to be addressed in order to restore public confidence in the North Yorkshire Police? I call upon you to offer a clear and unequivocal statement, and to use such influence as you may possess to encourage Ms Kenyon to do likewise, both personally and in her capacity as Chair of the NYPA. Thank you..

    I am hoping to learn that you are, indeed, the calibre of man to address these very important matters of extraordinary public interest.

    The deadline for publication is 12:00 noon on Friday 29th June 2012. Please respond in a timely fashion and try to limit your response, if any, to a maximum of three hundred words for publication. Thank you.

    For transparency, I reserve the right to publish all or any part of my correspondence into the public domain, and to include such recipients as i may believe to take an interest in public standards.

    Yours, with very kind regards,

    Nigel
    ________________________________________________

    Readers may, if they wish, address Tim Madgwick themselves. They may post their emails and responses (if any) here.

  6. SHAPON July 4, 2012 at 10:29 pm - Reply

    i left message cc madgwick .on the answer machine !vunerable adults cases ignored.i also faxedjane kenyon and mr holderness .a duty exists to act and maintain public confidence.

  7. sharon wilson July 6, 2012 at 8:41 am - Reply

    midstaff inquiry whitewash top brass ignore gbh withintent.prof laim donaldson gmc no 1554809 prof gmc 2656434 prof sally davies gmc 1549955 the above bringing the medical profession into disrepute.fraud.lies and deceit .corrupt strategichealth authority.turning a blindeye!to needless deaths!

  8. sharon wilson July 8, 2012 at 9:31 pm - Reply

    i have been informed my allegations are criminal offences.patient safety is being seriously undermined.professor liam dona ldson ex chief medical officer neglected his duty.as did professor welsh sha.

  9. sharon wilson July 8, 2012 at 9:40 pm - Reply

    it is evident of organ4sed bullying which includes pct.cyc ,perxerting justice,concealing arrestable offences.a probe into inappropriate prescribing for malicious purposes is required.

  10. Nigel Ward November 19, 2012 at 9:21 pm - Reply

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-20366968

    BBC News:

    “The deputy chair of the Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) cautioned one of their senior investigators against treating police as possible suspects in investigating a man’s death during an arrest.

    A lawyer for the man’s family said the IPCC placed good relations with police ahead of its public duty to investigate potentially criminal police failings.”

    The independent arbiter, eh?

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This Is A Custom Widget

This Sliding Bar can be switched on or off in theme options, and can take any widget you throw at it or even fill it with your custom HTML Code. Its perfect for grabbing the attention of your viewers. Choose between 1, 2, 3 or 4 columns, set the background color, widget divider color, activate transparency, a top border or fully disable it on desktop and mobile.

This Is A Custom Widget

This Sliding Bar can be switched on or off in theme options, and can take any widget you throw at it or even fill it with your custom HTML Code. Its perfect for grabbing the attention of your viewers. Choose between 1, 2, 3 or 4 columns, set the background color, widget divider color, activate transparency, a top border or fully disable it on desktop and mobile.